Learning That Less is More

My undergrad degree is from a very large school, where at the time of my graduation, there were more than 25,000 students enrolled.  Several of my core classes were in auditoriums with more than 300 students.  Needless to say, there was very little student-teacher interaction; they were essentially lecture only classes.

Personally speaking, one of the best parts of the Elon experience is the small class size.  I’m only in my second semester, but so far my largest class has only had 30 students. And this semester, there are only 12 students! The smaller class size has given me the opportunity to get to know my classmates and professors.  It is a very comfortable atmosphere that encourages a free exchange of ideas and opinions.

A good example of this comes from the class in which I am currently enrolled.  A large portion of this class involves oral presentations.  There are not too many people that really look forward to the opportunity to speak in front of a group; however, the small class size has allowed everyone to become better acquainted, creating a very supportive feeling among the students.

This is a nice change from my undergrad years, where it was very easy to feel like a nameless face in the crowd.  I’ve enjoyed getting to know everyone in the program and look forward to the next few years ahead.

Leave a Reply

