Reflections on the School Year (or, More Reasons I’m Proud of Elon)

For many students the school year has come to an end and they’re looking forward to a summer without schoolwork.  For me, the former applies but not the latter.  In a few days I start my first summer class, and by mid-August I should be almost halfway to my MBA degree after 11 short months!

Being the end of the ‘traditional’ school year, now seems an appropriate time to reflect.  For those of you in the ‘I just want to forget about school for the summer’ camp, don’t worry – this is a mostly ‘for fun’ post that won’t get into academics.

I’ve talked before in this blog about being proud of Elon, and as I reflect I can’t help but feel the pride building again.  Below are some more (fun) reasons I’m proud of my school:

  • The Elon Phoenix football team made the FCS playoffs and lost narrowly to the defending champions at their stadium!  They were ranked in the top 10 this year (FCS poll).
  • Wide receiver Terrell Hudgins received numerous accolades, including finishing second in voting for the Walter Payton award (which is presented annually to the top offensive player in the NCAA FCS).  He is one of the few football players to achieve being a three-time selection to the FCS All-America team.  Called “the most prolific pass-catcher in the history of NCAA Division 1 football,” Hudgins owns 10 NCAA receiving records (four of which he ‘grabbed’ from the legendary Jerry Rice)!  He is currently on the roster of the Dallas Cowboys, and is preparing to become the second Elon football player in the last four seasons to play in the NFL.
  • Elon excels not only in football, but in other sports as well.  For example, the baseball team won back-to-back Southern Conference regular-season championships in 2008 and 2009.  At the time of this writing, they are about to play in the semi-finals of the 2010 Southern Conference tournament.  They won 6 games (against only 1 loss – to nationally ranked North Carolina) against ACC teams this year!

By the way, I have lots of non-sports reasons for my pride as well – and plan to share those with you later this summer.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

