A Group Effort

It is exciting to be back in class after the summer break.  It was a break I relished for the time it gave me to spend with my family.  For me the hardest part of the MBA program is juggling the responsibilities of family, work and school.  After a year and a half in the program this is still a challenge – there is always something more I could do in at least one of these areas.

I am fortunate to have the support of colleagues and bosses at work.  They understand when I can’t stay late to finish that last-minute project because I have to go to class.  When school activities fall during the workday they are more than accommodating working around my schedule.  They do everything they can to help me get the most out of this MBA program.

During the program the majority of the classes I have taken so far involved some form of group work.  The classmates I have worked with have been second to none.  Almost without exception everyone has been encouraging, open to suggestions from others and willing to do what it takes to get the best result possible.  Having the opportunity to learn from one another along with the expertise and approachability of the professors is invaluable.

My family however has made the biggest sacrifice.  They have made as much of a commitment to this degree as I have.  Not only do I miss dinner while at class I also spend a lot of my free time working for school.  Whether it is reading chapters to prepare for next week’s class, muddling through problems with equations I haven’t used in 15 years, researching a paper or working with classmates on a group project, my family always gives me as much time and space as I need.  They are truly remarkable.  On a side note, when my son tells me he will never use high school math later in life I can say with authority, never say never.

Needless to say I would not be doing this if not for the all the support I receive from those around me.  When it comes time to graduate it will be thanks in large part to the people who have supported me whole-heartedly throughout this journey.

Leave a Reply

