And here we go again…Fall 2011

It’s the start of another year in the MBA program; I am pleased to say that there is now a light at the end of the tunnel. My first semester was in the spring of 2009. A job change, a move and the birth of my first child have taken place since that date several years ago. At the beginning of this semester, Judy Duhlberg and I discussed the plan for my remaining classes and came to the happy realization that I could indeed graduate in May.

One of the best things about the Elon MBA is the flexibility. Some members of my cohort finished the program in just under two years while a few others won’t finish until after I am through with my coursework. My time was delayed somewhat by my undergraduate coursework and the fact that I needed to take all of my pre-requisites. I will be finishing my last class in statistics at another institution while taking managerial accounting this fall.

Three weeks into class and I’m already wishing that I had taken accounting earlier in the program. It would have made a few other classes that much easier. That just demonstrates the positive nature, and potential downside, to a flexible program.

At Elon, you can take most classes in the order that works for you, with the exception of those requiring pre-requisites. A work colleague of mine has a very specific order to the classes at his Executive MBA program, which means he’ll be in the program for a far longer period of time.

Almost every class I have taken at Elon has been applicable to either my former or current role. More important to me is the fact that I’m learning so much from both my professors and my colleagues, while still maintaining some semblance of balance in my life. I have a family. I work. I study. I run. I ride. I sleep. Not necessarily in that order. And at the end of 2012, I can say that I am a graduate of the Elon MBA program.

Leave a Reply

